Un-stream-lined

Food, Travel, Design and the occassional wordiness

Fostering: Borrowed smarts- A Poem by Diane Morgan August 16, 2013

Filed under: Mouth full of potatoes,Pets — Kolika C @ 10:23 am

A Poem by Diane Morgan

I am the bridge,
Between what was and what can be.
I am the pathway to a new life.

I am made of mush,
Because my heart melted when I saw you,
Matted and sore, limping, depressed
Lonely, unwanted, afraid to love.

For one little time you are mine.
I will feed you with my own hand.
I will love you with my whole heart.
I will make you whole.

I am made of steel.
Because when the time comes,
When you are well, and sleek,
when your eyes shine,
And your tail wags with joy
Then comes the hard part.

I will let you go-not without a tear,
But without a regret.
For you are safe forever–
A new dog needs me now.

 

Leave a Reply

